Primary Health Networks and the NEMICS region

On 1st July 2015 Primary Health Networks (PHNs) replaced Medicare Locals.
Most health services in the NEMICS region sit within the Eastern Melbourne PHN.   Primary Health Networks have been established with the key objectives of:

  • increasing the efficiency and effectiveness of medical services for patients, particularly those at risk of poor health outcomes; and
  • improving coordination of care to ensure patients receive the right care in the right place at the right time.

In May 2014, the Federal Government announced that Primary Health Networks would commence operations from 1st July 2015 replacing the current Medicare Local program and taking responsibility for larger geographic regions and populations.  The objectives of the PHNs reflect the recommendations of a Review of Medicare Locals undertaken by former Commonwealth Chief Medical Officer, Professor John Horvath AO.

Victorian Primary Health Networks

In Victoria, the seventeen Medicare Locals were replaced with six PHNs:

  1. Eastern Melbourne - including but not limited to Coldstream, Epping, Healesville, Hurstbridge, Nunawading, Oakleigh, Scoresby, Warburton, Whittlesea and Yarra Glen.
  2. North West Melbourne - including but not limited to Bacchus Marsh, Craigieburn, Gisborne, Little River, Maribyrnong, Melbourne, Melton, Preston, Sunbury and Werribee.
  3. South Eastern Melbourne - including but not limited to Balnarring, Brighton, Bunyip, Cranbourne, Emerald, Koo-Wee-Rup, Mordialloc, Mornington, Mount Eliza, Mount Martha, Pakenham, Prahran, Sorrento, and St Kilda.
  4. Gippsland - including but not limited to Moe, Warragul and Leongatha.
  5. Murray - including but not limited to Kyneton, Broadford and Alexandra.
  6. Western Victoria - including but not limited to Geelong, Torquay, Queenscliff and Portarlington.

A map showing the PHN boundaries can be found below.

print text size increase