Lymphoma Summit

* Victorian Tumour Summits update January 2016 
* Lymphoma summit recommendations 

The above recommendations were settled by the lymphoma working party and communicated to the Victorian Integrated Cancer Services.  The working party will continue their work in progressing the recommendations in 2016. 

About the summit

On 17th April 2015, the third in a series of tumour specific forums was held.  The lymphoma summit united leading lymphoma clinicians to identify opportunities to improve outcomes and care for Victorian lymphoma patients.  

The key aims of the summit:

  • Review data and identify and prioritise service improvements
  • Consider local and state-wide initiatives
  • Collaboration and networking

Attended by 67 multidisciplinary clinicians from across Victoria including representatives from Cancer Council Victoria and the Leukaemia Foundation, the summit identified key opportunities for improvement: 

  • Optimising recruitment to lymphoma clinical trials
  • Facilitating better understanding of coding and the collection of data
  •  Promote consistent standards and effectiveness of multidisciplinary teams and meetings
  •  Adolescent and Young Adult care: recognising the transition into adult care settings
  •  Promote systematic and equal access to supportive care

Overall, participants rated the summit 8/10, 98% indicated they would encourage colleagues to attend future summits.

The lymphoma summit working party continues to gather post-summit to finalise recommendations.

Thanks and acknowledgements:

  • Ms Kathryn Whitfield, Department: Department of Health and Human Services 
  • A/Prof Jeff Szer, Director Western and Central Melbourne Integrated Cancer Service, Director Department of Clinical Haematology and BMT Service, The Royal Melbourne Hospital (City Campus)
  • A/Prof Stephen Opat, Unit Head, Clinical Haematology at Monash Health, Vice president of Haematology Society of Australia and New Zealand    
  • Dr Michael Gilbertson, Haematologist at Monash Health and Latrobe Regional Hospital.
Lymphoma summit working party members
A/Prof Stephen Opat (Chair)
A/Prof Jeff Szer
A/Prof Paul Mitchell
Dr Michael Gilbertson
Dr Surender Juneja
Dr Andrew Wirth
Luc te Marvelde
Kathy Simons



print text size increase